Born in Babylon, Searching for Zion

 

I worked my arse off for 5 months on a Banana farm in tropical north Queensland, Australia and then moved on to become one of the many people that drags their sorry self out of bed in the morning into a gloomy office in Melbourne for a few months. This was all to save enough money to go live the dream for a while, now, before I embarked on my travels I was one of the billions of people that work all year long for a nice week holiday, so the fact that I have just grafted 7 months and had 5 off was… well… Amazing, and better then the life I lived before, but it can’t last forever.

And it wasn’t long before reality hit me square in the face, I am back in a city and currently going through withdrawals of being free, the worries of falling back into a system which uses economics to create slaves. Forever searching for answers, forever looking for ways to live how I want to live, not how the system wants me to live. But how is it so hard? Why are there so many laws and regulations in place which make it so hard to live a self sustained life. I am fully aware that living a self sustained life comes with it’s difficulties and steps back centuries but for freedom I would gladly try and cross that bridge.

When you see self sustained communities around the world (and I have been to a fair few now) they have a very basic life, life isn’t about technology, it’s not about boosting self esteem through social media, it’s not about what you look like, how big your dick is or how many cars you have. Life is about survival, its about love, family, food and water. To me, that is what life is about. I have been working hard to make my life as non materialistic as possible, it’s a rather hard task when you live in a city and have family all over the world to contact (shall we go back to emails?!).

When I was working on the Banana farm in Tully which has a population of around 2,500 people life was bliss. There was no bullshit, the town was small and had just what It needed, no more no less. The people within the town either had their own store, worked on the Mill, or Bananas, no more no less. Surrounded by mountains, waterfalls, gorges, creeks and beaches there was so much wild life to enjoy. This is what life is about, nature, friends and family. I had nothing to spend my money on there was literally two pubs and one supermarket and through out those months I became more connected to people and nature than I ever have done in my life. I had broken routines which I had been doing my whole life. For the first time in years I had no wifi, no television. I lived in a tin shed with a bed, the kitchen / toilet facilities were over 100 metres away and I had to walk in to town to wash my clothes! I became detached from the conventional way of living, it was very simple and non materialistic, spending the majority of my time talking with friends, watching the sun set over mountains every day, listening to music, swimming down creeks and star gazing, and I liked it!

I have read enough blogs and watched enough videos on rogue travellers who literally travel with very little expenses. Hitch hiking country to country, working on ships to get across the pond and for accomodation, dumpster diving and busking to earn meals. I have spoken to these people first hand and shared experiences with them. I have spent nights under the stars and hitched around to get a glimpse in to that life. Now, I have to admit, as luxurious as it sounds travelling around and living like that, it is not an easy way to do it. You need a lot of courage and will power, your every day consists of what I spoke of previously, survival but survival in a world where cash is king. That being said, it’s breaking routine, going that extra mile for yourself, not for that CEO you work for. It’s about putting the time you would invest into someone else, into yourself.

You can travel in many different ways and that’s the beauty about it, there is no right or wrong way, it’s what suits you. Using the system to save enough money to travel and feel free is working for me right now . But, It won’t last forever with the restrictions of visas around the world. It’s something I have to think about right now. At 21 years old most people are either at university studying a subject of their choice which they may or may not pursuit a career in, or they’re already in a career, and I’m over here researching into communities, looking into countries I can legally live in, and be a part of a community that works together.

I am interested in business, but most business men want an empire, they want their business to be the next Google or Apple. Not me, I want my business to sustain me, I want my business to allow me to work for me, something which allows me to move around the world freely but still have an income. Until the day comes where I can push the button on my own business and sustain myself then I have to be content with living in Babylon, and if I’m living in Babylon, I’m going to use it to my advantage to educate myself.

For many, the dream is a big house, a lovely family, a nice car and a beautiful holiday home somewhere. However, to attain these things you either need a lucky break or graft your arse off your whole life working unsociable hours, spending days at work and nights up late, becoming a fiend to the coffee machine, pushing your family out of the picture so you can crack the next salary bracket. I knew a chap who had worked from a teenage boy all the way until his seventies, he sold his business and retired a very rich man and just as he was about to start relaxing and enjoying life he got ill and can no longer do the things he dreamed of. That opened my eyes up, shall I wait until I retire to enjoy life? or should I enjoy it now, while I have it? What do I actually want out of life? I certainly know it’s not that.

When I was in north Vietnam driving through communities it was such a beautiful life lesson, turning up to villages being the only foreign body you feel very vulnerable but it’s not long before those feelings disappear as you are welcomed into the village, people are laughing and smiling with (or at) you. Offering you food, helping you find accomodation and wanting to know your story. These people can barely speak a work of English but that doesn’t stop a conversation from brewing, I am currently reading a book called ‘The Alchemist’ by Paulo Coelho and the boy in the book talks about the language of the world, no matter where you go in the world there is a universal language that gets spoken, love manifests in all of us and is a key ingredient to this universal language. Any whom, these villagers would be working in the fields tending to their crops, or their farm animals. The men, women and children all helping together as a family to survive, to provide food and shelter. Many people think this is not a life to live, but put this into perspective, the communities work together, eat together and appreciate the real beauty of life together, they have no access to mainstream media bullshit, they have no want or desire for materialism. I have witnessed the happiness, they have everything they need, water, food, family, friends and nature. Of course it brings its own stresses but they certainly live a healthier, and less distorted life.

Meanwhile, we the more “advanced” fellows, us who live in “democracy” get sent away to from our families and friends to be moulded into a system and learn how to be “successful” in life. So we can be a slave to the system and keep the rich, rich. It’s ironic that we don’t get taught about mortgages, free movement, to love ourselves and others around us, not to be prejudice and the core values of life like self sustainability and love. Instead we get taught how to create empires, we are taught how to depend on the system from a young age. We are force fed lies after lies, promised hope and change but yet one billion people still live in extreme poverty (meaning they have no access to safe drinking water). So little people stand for what is right, so many people are happy to sit back and enjoy slaving away with the hope that one day freedom shall be assigned to them. That by working hard enough and earning enough money you can eventually gain freedom. We live in a world where 8 men have more money than over 3.5 billion people, is that a system you want to support? Is that the system you want to work your whole life for? For me, I know it certainly isn’t.

This is my opinion, I am not trying to change the way you live your life, but make yourself aware, if you are going to enjoy the benefits of the system do some research and help put your money in to businesses who support the other half of the world. Having said that, I am grateful for the education I received which is allowing me to pursuit my dream of eventually living in a self sustained community. There is a life beyond a 9-5 and I shall continue to search for it. Zion awaits! 

What will it profit a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Born in Babylon, Searching for Zion

  1. Patti Judd says:

    A very interesting letter Matt. I wish you luck in persuing your dream. When we were in Vietnam we visited a village where the children were just returning from school, all dressed in pristine school uniforms and smiling from ear to ear. The homes they returned to were bamboo huts on stilts over the Mekong. They had very little in furniture as we know it, but a solar panel and satellite dish for the TV. In another holiday we went into the jungle on the back of an elephant and in a clearing were bamboo huts where we stopped to buy fuel for the elephants i,e a bunch of bananas! Outside each of these huts was a solar panel and satellite dish. Strange world when those born into these situations seek modernisation whilst others seek to enjoy a life that is the complete opposite to the one they were born into. Love Nan xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

